Marine And Aquatic Education and Literacy

National Ocean Sciences Bowl

Quahog Bowl 2017

Save the Date! Saturday Feb. 4, 2017 at UConn Avery Point

Download flyerfor more information.

This year's theme: Blue Energy: Powering the Planet with our Ocean

See NOSB's site - click on "Learn" for more information and study resources.

2016 Quahog Bowl

The 2016 annual Quahog Bowl will be held at the UConn Avery Point campus on February 6, 2016. This is the regional component of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl competition. Sixteen high school teams in Connecticut and Rhode Island will participate.


The winning team: E.O. Smith, coached by Cheryl Granger and Julia Sherman. The team members are
Aidden Arel, Mira Gordin, Alice Hu, Ilinca Johnson, and Robert Kao.

EO Smith team

E.O. Smith team with trophy

Second Place: Ledyard High School, Ledyard, coached by Dave Bednarz.
Third Place: Coginchaug High School, Durham (last year's champion), coached by Lorrie Martin
Fourth Place: Norwich Free Academy (NFA), Norwich CT, coached by Seth Yarish
Sportsmanship Award: Bridgeport Vocational Aquaculture School, coach Rebecca Gladych
Team Challenge Question Award: Marine Science Magnet High School (Groton)

Winning teams were presented with trophies for first and second place, and a number of donated prizes including scholarships, summer camp, books, apparel, passes to Mystic Seaport, and more. All teams received T shirts and donated items. About 200 people attended the all-day event.


Event is free and open to the public; however, entry to rooms is restricted once questioning round is in progress. Observers are not allowed to speak, use cell phones, or leave once seated.

For more information or to volunteer to help, contact Diana Payne, Coordinator.

Volunteers needed for 2017 Quahog Bowl!

For the competition to run smoothly, considerable preparation and support is necessary. More than 100 volunteers are needed to serve as moderators, judges, timekeepers, scorekeepers, and runners. For a description of each volunteer role, please click here.

2015 Quahog Bowl

The 2015 annual Quahog Bowl was held at the UCONN Avery Point campus on February 7, 2015. Sixteen teams participated!


First place: Coginchaug High School, Durham CT
Second Place: Ledyard High School, CT
Third Place: Narragansett High School, RI
Fourth Place: E.O. Smith High School, Storrs-Mansfield, CT

2014 Quahog Bowl

The 2014 annual Quahog Bowl regional competition (CT and RI) was held at the UConn Avery Point Campus on February 1, 2014, in the Academic Building. The first place team will go on to attend the National Ocean Sciences Bowl competition.

The event is co-hosted by Connecticut Sea Grant and Project Oceanology. Other sponsors include Rhode Island Sea Grant, Dominion Inc. and more.

First Place: Coginchaug High School, Durham CT

Second Place: Narragansett High School, RI

Third Place: Marine Sciences Magnet High School, Groton CT

Fourth Place: Cranston West High School, RI

Sportmanship Award: Ledyard CT

Team Challenge Questions: Narragansett RI

Congratulations to these amazing teams and their coaches!

And thanks to all the teams who participated in 2014.

Contact co-coordinator Diana Payne to volunteer. There will be a volunteer training session on Wednesday, January 22, 2014 at Project Oceanology on the UConn Avery Point campus. Specific information regarding time to follow, but please pencil in 4:00-6:00 PM.

2013 Quahog Bowl

Results are in for the 16th annual Quahog Bowl regional competition held on March 2, 2013 at the UConn Avery Point campus.

  • First Place: 1st: Cranston West (RI)
  • 2nd: Ledyard (CT)
  • 3rd: Waterford (CT)
  • 4th: Narragansett (RI)
  • Sportsmanship Award: Bacon Academy, Colchester (CT)
  • Team Challenge Question: Narragansett (RI)

Congratulations to the winning teams and coaches, and to all the teams for doing their best! Thanks to the many sponsors and the volunteers who helped out. Photos for all teams will be posted soon-stay tuned.

The event was co-hosted by Connecticut Sea Grant and Project Oceanology. Contact co-coordinator Diana Payne to volunteer for next year.

Go to Team Photos 2013 Page

For high resolution photos contact webmaster.

Ledyard Takes Home NOSB 2012 Sportsmanship Award !

The 2012 National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB) finals competition, consisting of winning teams from 25 regions across the country, was held April 19-22 in Baltimore, MD. The Quahog Bowl was represented by Ledyard High School coach Dave Bednarz, team captain Ronnie Tardiff, Jenna Farquhar, Bryauna Phillips, Qiuyin Ren, and Lucy Zhang. The team participated in field trips on Friday, and the round robin competition and Science Expert Briefing on Saturday. Ledyard had several close contests in round robin, and won a match in their first-ever national competition. They also made a fine showing in the Science Expert Briefing. At the awards ceremony on Sunday, prizes were presented to all teams based on placement in the competition. The final award bestowed each year is the highly coveted Sportsmanship Award. The award is given in honor of Admiral James D. Watkins who started the NOSB program in 1997, and recognizes the team that demonstrates the best sportsmanship throughout the NOSB Finals competition. As the recipients of this prestigious honor, the team received a new buzzer system, the AMS textbook Introduction to Oceanography and gift certificates to (coach - $200, team members - $100). Congratulations to coach Dave Bednarz and the entire Ledyard High School team on a great showing at nationals!

See story in The Ledyard Patch

2012 Quahog Bowl

The top six teams of the 2012 Quahog Bowl on Feb. 4 at UConn Avery Point are:

1 Ledyard
2 Cranston West
3 Narragansett
4 Waterford
5 Bacon Academy
6 NFA (Norwich Free Academy)

Ledyard will represent our region (CT-RI) at the National Ocean Science Bowl competition in Baltimore, MD April 20-22, 2012. Congratulations to coach Dave Bednarz and the Ledyard team!


Previous Quahog Bowls

To see archives of previous Quahog Bowls, click here for 2009 and Click here for 2010.

Regional Competition

Winning team

Coginchaug High School, First Place 2015

Local Sponsors

  • Connecticut Sea Grant
  • Consortium for Ocean Leadership
  • Dominion
  • Project Oceanology
  • Rhode Island Sea Grant
  • University of Connecticut - Avery Point
  • Mystic Aquarium and Institute for Exploration
  • Mystic Seaport – The Museum of America and the Sea
  • The Maritime Studies Program of Williams College and Mystic Seaport
  • Southern New England Marine Educators
  • UConn Coop
  • URI Office of Marine Programs

For archived team photos, Click here.