Contaminants of Emerging Concern Project

Logos for the Connecticut, New Hampshire and North Carolina Sea Grant programs, Lighthouse Consulting Group, the University of Connecticut and NOAA National Sea Grant

In September 2021, a partnership of the Connecticut, New Hampshire and North Carolina Sea Grant programs and Lighthouse Consulting Group began a project on contaminants of emerging concern—the residues of commonly used products increasingly found in coastal and freshwater environments. This federally funded project will engage Sea Grant programs nationwide in developing a strategy to further knowledge about effective actions to understand and reduce impacts on humans and wildlife. Click here to read the project abstract.

Learn about the survey on Contaminants of Emerging Concern

A partnership of the Connecticut, New Hampshire and North Carolina Sea Grant programs and Lighthouse Consulting Group conducted a survey as part of a federally funded project announced in September 2021. The survey closed on Dec. 31. Please check back for updates on the results.

[Read More]

Contaminants of Emerging Concern Project Team:

Mark Amaral: MAmaral@lighthousecg.com

Judy Benson: judy.benson@uconn.edu

Sylvain De Guise: sylvain.deguise@uconn.edu

Stephen Jones: stephen.jones@unh.edu

Milton Levin: milton.levin@uconn.edu

Frank Lopez: fmlopez@ncsu.edu

Susan White: snwhite3@ncsu.edu

CEC Project Advisory Committee:

Jonathan Ali: Jonathan.M.Ali@des.nh.gov

Dennis Apeti: dennis.apeti@noaa.gov

Karen Bareford: kjbareford@ua.edu

Beth Eckert: Beth.Eckert@cfpua.org

Jennifer Gundersen: Gundersen.Jennifer@epa.gov

Jim Hurley: hurley@aqua.wisc.edu

Rick Langley: rick.langley@dhhs.nc.gov

Olga Naidenko: olga@ewg.org

Doug Parker: doug.parker@ucop.edu

Christina Stringer: cstringer@neiwpcc.org

CEC Resources:

U.S. Geological Survey: https://www.usgs.gov/mission-areas/water-resources/science/emerging-contaminants

Environmental Protection Agency: https://www.epa.gov/wqc/contaminants-emerging-concern-including-pharmaceuticals-and-personal-care-products

A U.S. Geological Survey scientist dissects a fish brain as part of research to detect CEC residues in marine life.
A U.S. Geological Survey scientist dissects a fish brain as part of research to detect CEC residues in marine life. Photo: USGS