16 teams to compete in 22nd annual Quahog Bowl on Feb. 2

quahog_bowl“Observe the Ocean; Secure the Future,” will be the theme of the 22st annual Quahog Bowl academic competition for high school students at UConn’s Avery Point campus from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Feb. 2.
In keeping with the theme, questions in this year’s competition will focus on topics such as: how ocean observing addresses societal needs; the technologies and instrumentation that make observing possible; the challenges in processing, analyzing and coordinating data; how ocean observations influence and inform decision makers; organizations and groups focused on ocean observing; and policies related to ocean observing.
The Quahog Bowl is the CT/RI regional competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl, a quiz-bowl style academic competition that tests teams of students nationwide in ocean-related topics across the disciplines of biology, chemistry, policy, physics and geology. This interdisciplinary science education program of the Consortium for Ocean Leadership was created to build the next generation of scientists, academics and leaders by educating them in timely and relevant ocean science topics. Sponsors of the NOSB include the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the Office of Naval Research (ONR), and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), along with private corporations, non-profit groups and private donors. Connecticut Sea Grant, a partnership of NOAA and UConn based at Avery Point, organizes and hosts the annual Quahog Bowl regional competition, led by Diana Payne, CT Sea Grant’s education coordinator.
Winning teams from the regional bowls will compete in the national finals April 11 – 14 in Washington, D.C. The winning team of the 2017 and 2018 competitions, from Ledyard High School, will be returning this year to defend its title against 13 other Connecticut teams and three from Rhode Island.
Participating Connecticut teams in the 2018 Quahog Bowl are: Bacon Academy in Colchester; Bridgeport Regional Aquaculture Science & Technology Education Center; Coginchaug Regional High School in Durham; E.O. Smith High School in Storrs; Glastonbury High School; Ledyard High School; Marianapolis Preparatory School in Thompson; Norwich Free Academy; two teams from the Science and Technology Magnet High School of Southeastern Connecticut, in New London; Waterford High School; and Woodstock Academy. From Rhode Island, two teams from Cranston High School East and a team from Narragansett High School will be competing.
The competition will take place in the Academic Building at Avery Point.
Anyone requiring an accommodation to participate in this event, please contact Michelle MarcAurele at Connecticut Sea Grant at: (860) 405-9128 or at: michelle.marcaurele@uconn.edu by Jan. 28, 2019.
For information on the National Ocean Science Bowl, visit: www.NOSB.org.